Nursing and Midwifery Council: New Nursing Standards

The Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC) have published 2 new sets of standards for nursing:

Future nurse: standards of proficiency for registered nurses

Realising professionalism: Standards for education and training, available in 3 parts

Part 1: standards framework for nursing and midwifery education
Part 2: standards for student supervision and assessment
Part 3: standards for pre-registration nursing programmes

Both sets of standards may be used from 28th January 2019 and the NMC recommends reading both sets together to provide a complete picture of:

  • what nurses and midwives need to know and be able to do
  • what approved education institutions (AEIs) and their practice placement partners must provide when delivering education and training courses

For more information on the standards and how they have been developed click here.


You may also like...